There are 20 settlements which constitute the Municipality of Dobrinj: Čižići, Dobrinj, Gabonjin, Gostinjac, Gornja and Donja Hlapa, Klanice, Klimno, Kras, Meline, Polje, Rasopasno, Rudine, Soline, Sužan, Sveti Ivan, Sveti Vid, Šilo, Tribulje, Žestilac and Županje.

Dobrinj is the administrative, political, ecclesiastical as well as cultural centre of the Dobrinj area. It is situated on a hill, 200 meters above the sea level, and it is one of the oldest citadels, dating back as far as the 7th century. Dobrinj is rich in cultural and historical sights, such as the treasury of documents in Glagolitic script, and books of brotherhoods and notaries. In recent years, and thanks to its summer exhibition collections in galleries of Infeld and Hilger and thanks to church of St Anthony, which is also a gallery, Dobrinj has become the meeting – place of many world renowned artists.

From up there, there is a beautiful panoramic view of the whole Soline bay.
The Soline Bay comprises three settlements: Klimno und Soline, which are located on the southern coast and Čižići, which is located on the western one. Klimno got its name after the St Clement’s small church from 1381, and it is famous for the relief altarpiece, which is a protected national cultural monument. Soline got its name after sea salt which was produced during Roman period in that area; today, there is a beach there which is famous for the healing characteristics of its curative mud. Čižići is a small settlement situated on the border of the Soline settlement. In its immediate vicinity, there is a cave called Biserujka.

Šilo is a tourist centre of the Dobrinj area and it is located on the north - eastern part of the island of Krk. This place is a bit younger than the rest of the settlements on the island. It gained its importance in 1905 when the first regular steamboat route Šilo - Vrbnik - Crikvenica arrived, which, at that time, was the only connection of the island with the mainland.

Refine results